The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed to Transform Your Life by Hal Elrod: Lessons

Tamar Meisels
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Self help books have always played a role in my life. From helping me get through my tough teen years, (Thank you “7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens” and “Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff For Teens”:) and leading up to my current relatively early stage in my career, where I am trying to find meaning in my workplace and in my life in general. I will share a few valuable lessons that I learned from this recommended book. This won’t be a full inclusive summary, but rather my personal takeaways.

1. ‘Our outer world will always be a reflection of our inner world’

Everything that happens in the outside is an opportunity for you to look inside and see why you are feeling this way, what lessons can be learned. Change begins with your inner world and your perception of yourself. Your outer world will change in accordance with your inner world improvements.

2. ‘Where you go depends on who you choose to be, not who you were’

A lot of times we have a bad relationship with our past. We don’t like past choices we made, time we wasted and bad relationships we were in. We have to focus on our choice today. Who are we going to be now? Where do we want to go?

3. ‘Meditation is more effective than medicine’

This is wisdom that I have seen repeats itself in many self developments book, so lets give it a try huh? Take time daily to meditate. Let go of your need to be thinking, focus on your breath.

4. ‘The more vividly you see what you want, the more you make the possibility of achieving it real’

Visualize your dreams, as accurately as you can. Visualize what person you are in your vision.

His main point in the book is to allocate time to focus on your personal development, connect with yourself and your purpose. Don’t settle for mediocrity, where “..you get to the end and look back in regret, knowing that you could have been, done, and had so much more”

--

--

Tamar Meisels

Jewish wife and mother, pursuing a life of happiness and meaning. Data analyst by day, blogger by night